FThe Car
Field Guide
GOOD ROADS. BETTER DECISIONS.Lagos · Ogun · Ibadan

FAMILY JOURNEYS · SOUTHWEST NIGERIA

Room for every journey.

A thoughtful SUV shortlist for your family, your supplies and the roads ahead.

₦5m target · ₦6m ceilingAutomatic onlyLagos · Ogun · Ibadan
6 model families · Reviewed 19 Sep 2026

28 buying leads · 9 advertised foreign-used · 19 Nigerian-used. Existing leads retained; above-budget options are marked separately. Seller labels are not inspection results.

All car details and buying leads are open below. Scroll through, or use the seating filters above.

2004-2007 Toyota Highlander photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.THE FAMILY FAVOURITE

Toyota Highlander

2004–2007 · first generation

₦4.725m–₦6m

Nigerian-used sample · 5 advertised Nigerian-used leads

Foreign-used: ₦7.45m
1 advertised leads; check price and condition

5 or 7 · check row 3AutomaticNigerian-used (local) / Foreign-usedPetrol · 4-cyl / V6

The closest match to your original brief, if a genuine third-row car passes inspection.

The ₦6m lead claims three rows but its ad field says five seats.

Our take

The preferred Toyota remains on the list. More Nigerian-used choices include an Ikeja ad specifying seven seats. The only added foreign-used Highlander is a five-seat 2003 model above budget; this search did not verify a foreign-used seven-seat Highlander within ₦6m.

SeatsFive or seven. Third row varies by trim; 2001–03 cars have five seats.
Engine & gearbox2.4L four-cylinder / 4-speed automatic or 3.3L V6 / 5-speed automatic (2004 reference).
Fuel reference7.9 city / 11.1 highway km/L — 2004 3.3 V6 4WD, historic Canadian test.
Road suitabilityCrossover for mixed roads, not a low-range off-roader. Published 2004 clearance: 175–185 mm by version, before load.
Parts & upkeepPractical first choice to discuss with a local Toyota garage. No live parts stock or repair quotes were verified.
CargoRear seats fold. Only about 10.5 cu ft (297 L) behind the third row in the cited seven-seat version.
What your mechanic should check
  • Confirm factory third-row seats, mountings, headrests and working belts; resolve the listing contradiction.
  • Cold/hot transmission test; inspect cooling system, leaks, suspension and engine oil condition.
  • For the V6, obtain timing-belt service evidence and a quote if history is missing.
  • Check AWD hardware if fitted; matching tyres and underbody condition matter.
Fuel & ownership costs

Toyota publishes 12.7 city / 9.0 highway L/100 km for the Canadian 2004 V6 4WD. Converted as 100 ÷ L/100 km. Historic test method; not directly comparable with later US EPA ratings.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

The V6 trades fuel consumption for carrying ability. Obtain engine-specific service and timing-belt quotes before negotiating.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyFive seats only

Ikeja, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Five seats only: this 2003 car predates the factory third-row option. The 2004–07 engine and fuel references above must not be applied automatically. Seller claims everything works; request engine/VIN details, overseas history and import documents. Stretch-only at ₦7.45m; no independent inspection.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm condition & documents

Ojodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Alternative seller channel through a Cars45 Jiji listing. Third-row count unstated; treat as a five-seat option until actual factory row and belts are verified. Page mentions a 10% deposit into a Jiji balance; obtain an in-person inspection and documents before any payment. No Cars45 inspection report was visible on this page.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Abule Egba, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Automatic, local used, explicitly two rows. Seller claims first body, sound engine/gear, cold AC; listed 121,221 km. Five-seat alternative with ₦200,000 left under target, before fees/repairs.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Ikotun/Igando, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Automatic, local used. Seller claims first owner/registration, unpainted, all documents, “nothing to fix”; listed 154,876 km. Row count unstated; do not assume seven seats.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm condition & documents

Ikeja, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 7 seats — verify actual car

Ad field specifies seven seats, making it a seven-seat candidate to verify in person. ₦5.2m exceeds ₦5m target but stays under ₦6m ceiling. Verify factory third row, all belts and mounts, V6 timing-belt history, cooling, AWD and gearbox before negotiation.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Alimosho, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Automatic, local used. Description says three rows, good engine/gear/AC and papers, but structured field says 5 seats. Ask for current photos of every row, belts and VIN; physically confirm before relying on seven seats. Stretch limit leaves no repair reserve.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Toyota Highlander listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2004–2007 representative photo ↗

2003-2005 Honda Pilot photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.ROOM FOR MORE

Honda Pilot

2003–2008 · first generation

₦2.85m–₦4.5m

Nigerian-used sample · 7 advertised Nigerian-used leads

Foreign-used: ₦5.95m–₦7.99m
5 advertised leads; check price and condition

8 seats · three rowsAutomaticNigerian-used (local) / Foreign-usedPetrol · 3.5L V6

A spacious three-row alternative, with a nearby Ikorodu lead below the target budget.

V6 fuel bills and automatic gearbox condition deserve careful attention.

Our take

A strong search direction for family capacity. Compare the foreign-used Ojodu and Lekki leads with lower-priced local examples in Ikorodu and Sagamu. Confirm import records, gearbox condition and timing-belt history; foreign-used status alone does not establish quality.

SeatsEight factory belted seats. Confirm the actual seats and belts are complete.
Engine & gearbox3.5L V6 with 5-speed automatic. FWD or 4WD depending on year and version.
Fuel reference6.4 city / 8.5 highway km/L — 2008 4WD, revised US EPA reference.
Road suitabilityPublished 2008 unladen clearance about 198–203 mm. Useful on uneven roads, with limitations in deep mud.
Parts & upkeepHave a Honda specialist price transmission, suspension and timing-belt work locally before buying.
CargoFolding second and third rows. Check usable luggage room with your intended passenger count.
What your mechanic should check
  • Require timing-belt/water-pump service evidence; quote overdue work.
  • Test every gear and reverse cold and hot, scan faults, and investigate shudder or slipping.
  • Check radiator, cooling-system integrity and fluid condition.
  • Inspect 4WD operation if equipped, rear suspension, air conditioning and every seat belt.
Fuel & ownership costs

Honda’s 2008 4WD rating is 15 city / 20 highway US mpg; multiply by 0.42514 for km/L. This is a 2008 same-generation reference, not a specification for every 2006 listing.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

Eight seats and a large V6 bring higher fuel exposure. A cheap example needing transmission work can erase the purchase saving.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Foreign-usedWithin ₦6mConfirm condition & documents

Ojodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Within ₦6m cap. Listing states 8 seats, 156,021 km, unregistered, original parts and unpainted body; seller says accident free. At this relatively low foreign-used ask, verify VIN, duty, structural repairs, engine, gearbox and actual seating before any payment.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Foreign-usedWithin ₦6mLimited condition information

Lekki, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

At ₦6m ceiling. Seller supplies generic model specifications rather than vehicle-specific condition, mileage, seat count or duty details. Treat as lower-confidence lead; check those details and VIN in person.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyConfirm condition & documents

Isolo, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Stretch above ₦6m. Listing states 8 seats, unregistered and no faults; seller says three rows. Fixed asking price. Check actual seatbelts, VIN and duty papers.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyConfirm condition & documents

Amuwo-Odofin, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Stretch above ₦6m. Listing says unregistered, no faults, newly arrived, accident free and duty fully paid. Seat count and actual mileage are not stated; verify three-row seats, seatbelts, VIN and duty documents.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyConfirm inspection address

Isolo, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Stretch, almost ₦8m. Listing states 8 seats and three rows; seller also says '8 passengers plus', which conflicts with its eight-seat field and should not be assumed. Listed store area Amuwo-Odofin while page location is Isolo; confirm inspection address. Same seller also has another gray 2007 Pilot listed for ₦8m, so ask whether the two ads describe one vehicle.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mLow ask · inspect carefully

Ikorodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Listing specifies eight seats and claims engine, gear and AC are good. At ₦2.85m, the low asking price needs explanation; check reason and verify papers, cold/hot gearbox, timing-belt history and every belt/seat before travel or payment.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm condition & documents

Ikorodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Convenient Ikorodu lead. Seller says engine and gear are untampered and AC chills; row count is not shown on this ad. Verify actual third-row seats and belts, timing-belt service, cooling and cold/hot transmission behavior.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mLow ask · inspect carefully

Amuwo-Odofin, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Ad fields say eight seats and seller says three rows, AC chills, engine and gear untouched. The low asking price warrants particular care; inspect carefully for accident/paint history and verify service records, transmission and timing belt. Seller claims are unverified.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm condition & documents

Sagamu, Ogun · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Ogun alternative; seller claims good driving and cooling AC. Ad does not specify row/seat count or service history. Inspect all seats and belts, timing-belt history, cooling and automatic transmission.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm inspection address

Ijede Road, Ikorodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Listing specifies eight seats and a store on Ijede Road, convenient for Agbowa. Advertised 56,869 km is unusually low for the age, so corroborate mileage and service history; inspect transmission, timing belt, cooling and all seat belts. Page shows ₦4.2m, although its category card showed ₦4.4m.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
2006 Honda Pilot, green ↗₦4,400,000, negotiable
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Ikeja, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Automatic, local used. Seller claims first body, sound engine/gear and cold AC. Row/seat condition not stated in ad; inspect.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
2006 Honda Pilot, blue ↗₦4,500,000, negotiable
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Ikorodu, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 8 seats — verify actual car

Automatic, local used. Seller claims first body, sound engine/gear, cold AC. Pilot is a three-row model, but actual third-row seats/belts and condition must be checked. Convenient location for Agbowa.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Honda Pilot listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2003–2005 representative photo ↗

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.CONSIDER WITH CARE

Hyundai Santa Fe

2007–2009 · second generation

₦4.95m–₦5m

Nigerian-used sample · 2 advertised Nigerian-used leads

No screened foreign-used lead yet

5 or 7 · check row 3AutomaticNigerian-used (local)Petrol · V6

A comfortable alternative if the actual car has a factory third row and local service support.

Seven seats are optional, and the Yaba lead does not confirm them.

Our take

Do not shortlist this as seven-seat until the seller shows the actual rear seats and belts. Ask your mechanic about availability and cost of model-specific parts before viewing.

SeatsFive as standard in the US reference; optional seven-seat Touring package. Listing does not specify.
Engine & gearbox2007 US reference: 2.7L V6 / 4-speed automatic or 3.3L V6 / 5-speed automatic.
Fuel reference8.1 city / 10.2 highway km/L — 2007 3.3L, older US EPA test.
Road suitabilityPublished 2007 clearance about 206 mm. A crossover; inspect underbody and suspension after rough-road use.
Parts & upkeepConfirm a Hyundai-capable garage and quotes for exact engine/gearbox parts. Local inventory was not verified.
CargoOptional third row folds; only about 10 cu ft (283 L) remains behind it.
What your mechanic should check
  • Verify exact engine and factory seating package, not just model badge.
  • Scan modules and test automatic cold/hot, cooling system, AC and suspension.
  • Ask for the correct engine-specific service schedule; 2.7L and 3.3L service needs differ.
  • Check AWD hardware if present, tyre matching and underbody repairs.
Fuel & ownership costs

2007 brochure gives 19 city / 24 highway US mpg for the 3.3L version. Older EPA method; it will look optimistic beside the revised 2008 Pilot figure.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

Get quotes first. A lower sticker price does not prove cheaper long-term maintenance.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6mConfirm inspection address

Ad: Ikorodu, Lagos; seller store: Gbagada, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Conditional location: ad header says Ikorodu while the displayed store address is Gbagada. Confirm where the car can actually be inspected. Seat count and third row unstated, so do not treat it as seven-seat yet. Seller claims untouched engine, sharp gear and cold AC; fixed asking price leaves just ₦50k under target.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe, black ↗₦5,000,000, negotiable
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Yaba, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Automatic, local used. Seller claims V6, leather, functioning AC and first owner. Seat count unstated; 2007 Santa Fe versions vary by market/configuration, so require photos and physical check before treating it as seven-seat.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Hyundai Santa Fe listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2007 representative photo ↗

2002-2004 Honda CR-V photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.FIVE-SEAT ALTERNATIVE

Honda CR-V

2002–2006 · second generation

₦3.2m

Nigerian-used sample · 1 advertised Nigerian-used leads

Foreign-used: ₦5.4m–₦7.45m
2 advertised leads; check price and condition

5 seatsAutomaticNigerian-used (local) / Foreign-usedPetrol · 4-cylinder

A smaller five-seat option that can leave more money available for first repairs.

Less passenger capacity than the brief; the ad’s “owner” claim needs checking.

Our take

Worth considering if five seats is enough. The added ₦5.4m foreign-used lead is advertised as 2.0L, so verify import-market specification before comparing fuel figures. Inspect it just as carefully as the lower-priced Nigerian-used option.

SeatsFive seats; cannot cover seven-person journeys.
Engine & gearbox2005 US: 2.4L four-cylinder, 5-speed automatic. European 2.0L/4-speed versions differ; check VIN.
Fuel reference9.8 city / 12.3 highway km/L — 2005 2WD automatic, original US EPA.
Road suitability2005 US published clearance 206 mm unladen. Inspect suspension and underside; clearance reduces under load.
Parts & upkeepAsk a local Honda garage for model-specific parts and repair quotes; availability is not guaranteed.
CargoRear seating folds to accommodate supplies when fewer people travel.
What your mechanic should check
  • Verify actual seller/owner identity: the ad says direct owner but the profile is an auto business.
  • Check air-conditioning operation and quote any compressor/system repair.
  • Road-test automatic, cooling system, steering and suspension; inspect AWD hardware if fitted.
  • Check crash/flood evidence and service history rather than trusting stated mileage.
Fuel & ownership costs

Original 2005 EPA ratings: 2WD automatic 23/29 US mpg; 4WD automatic 22/27 mpg (9.4/11.5 km/L). These are older test-cycle figures, not revised EPA or Nigerian results.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

Potentially lower fuel demand than large V6 SUVs, but condition and traffic dominate. Keep any purchase saving for maintenance.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Foreign-usedWithin ₦6mFive seats only

Ikeja, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Within ₦6m cap. Listing states 5 seats, 134,000 km, unregistered, no faults, unpainted, original parts; seller says engine and AC work and custom papers are available. Five seats only; claims and papers require independent inspection. Ad names a 2.0L engine; do not use the 2.4L US fuel reference as its exact specification.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyConfirm condition & documents

Ikeja, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Stretch above ₦6m. Unregistered; seller claims no issues, working AC and accident-free body. Seat count is not stated; CR-V is generally a five-seat choice, so confirm layout. Limited vehicle-specific evidence compared with silver CR-V.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Abule Egba, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Automatic, local used, five-seat class. Advertised as direct-owner vehicle with smooth gear, quiet engine and cold AC, though seller profile is an auto business. Confirm actual ownership and documents.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Honda CR-V listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2002–2004 representative photo ↗

2001-2003 Toyota RAV4 photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.COMPACT TOYOTA

Toyota RAV4

2001–2005 · second generation

₦3.7m

Nigerian-used sample · 1 advertised Nigerian-used leads

Foreign-used: ₦7.95m
1 advertised leads; check price and condition

5 seatsAutomaticNigerian-used (local) / Foreign-usedPetrol · 4-cylinder

A compact Toyota alternative if passenger space matters less than a smaller footprint.

The selected ad gives conflicting inspection locations: Ogba and Abule Egba.

Our take

A reasonable five-seat search direction, with less cabin space than the Highlander. Avoid assuming every older Toyota is mechanically simple or trouble-free.

SeatsFive seats in this generation.
Engine & gearbox2005 Canadian reference: 2.4L four-cylinder with 4-speed automatic; import-market engines may differ.
Fuel reference9.4 city / 11.5 highway km/L — 2005 4WD automatic, original US EPA.
Road suitability2005 Canadian clearance: 170 mm unladen. Less clearance than some larger options; check rough-route suitability.
Parts & upkeepDiscuss the exact generation with a Toyota mechanic; no live spare-part prices were verified.
CargoRear seating can be reconfigured for load space; confirm the actual mechanism and usable opening.
What your mechanic should check
  • Confirm inspection location before travelling.
  • Watch for harsh shifts, hesitation or warning lights on a cold and fully warm road test.
  • Inspect engine oil level/leaks, cooling system and service history.
  • Check AWD if fitted, matching tyres, suspension and structural repairs.
Fuel & ownership costs

Original 2005 EPA guide: 22/27 US mpg for 2.4L 4WD automatic, multiplied by 0.42514. Historic test cycle; not a real-world promise.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

A smaller four-cylinder alternative, but an automatic repair can outweigh the fuel saving.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Foreign-usedAbove ₦6m · stretch onlyConfirm condition & documents

Surulere, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Five-seat compact SUV. Seller claims accident-free, no salvage title, original paint and sound engine/transmission; none has been independently verified. Obtain VIN/title history and import records and inspect before paying. Stretch-only at ₦7.95m.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
2005 Toyota RAV4, silver ↗₦3,700,000, negotiable
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

listed Ogba, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · 5 seats — verify actual car

Automatic, local used, five-seat class. Seller claims first body and cold AC. Location conflict: listing header says Ogba, description says Abule Egba. Confirm inspection address.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Toyota RAV4 listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2001–2003 representative photo ↗

2007 Mitsubishi Outlander photographed in USA. Representative, not a listing photo.A CONDITIONAL OPTION

Mitsubishi Outlander

2004–2007 · generation varies

₦2.55m–₦4.7m

Nigerian-used sample · 3 advertised Nigerian-used leads

No screened foreign-used lead yet

5; some 2007 models 7AutomaticNigerian-used (local)Petrol · 4-cyl / V6

Additional leads across the region, if a specialist approves the exact car and transmission.

2007 seating is unconfirmed; engine and transmission must be identified first.

Our take

A secondary shortlist choice. Prefer a documented, correctly maintained example over a low-price car with uncertain gearbox history. The Ogun price is a lead for investigation, not proof of a bargain.

SeatsFirst generation: five seats. Second generation: some versions offer seven. A late-2005 Japanese build can be second-generation; verify VIN, body and factory belts.
Engine & gearboxGeneration matters: 2007 Australian reference has 2.4L CVT or 3.0L V6 / 6-speed automatic. Do not assume every “automatic” is the same.
Fuel reference2005 4WD auto: 8.9 city / 10.6 highway km/L, original US EPA; 2007 differs.
Road suitabilityAWD varies by version. These are crossover vehicles, not equivalent to a full-size low-range Pajero.
Parts & upkeepCheck local Mitsubishi expertise and price gearbox-specific servicing and parts before purchase.
CargoRear rows fold; any third row is compact. Inspect actual capacity with passengers and supplies.
What your mechanic should check
  • Identify exact generation, engine and gearbox by VIN.
  • For a CVT, require correct-fluid service evidence and check hesitation, shudder or overheating.
  • Verify factory third-row seats/belts on any claimed seven-seater.
  • Get specialist parts quotes and inspect cooling, AC, suspension and underbody.
Fuel & ownership costs

2005 2.4L auto: 2WD 21/26 US mpg (8.9/11.1 km/L), 4WD 21/25 (8.9/10.6). 2007 Australian combined ADR figures: 2.4 CVT 10.5 km/L; 3.0 V6 9.2 km/L. Different tests: do not rank them directly. Confirm the actual engine/transmission.

Use the calculator in the Guide tab with your actual pump price and expected driving. Old-car condition, traffic, air conditioning and load can worsen consumption substantially.

A less familiar drivetrain may require a specialist. A low asking price can conceal costly deferred work.

Buying leads

Model specifications above describe the stated reference years, not every listing below. Check the exact year, engine and seat configuration.

Use these to start a conversation, not to send a deposit. Ask for a fresh walk-around video and an independent inspection.

Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Ijebu Ode, Ogun · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Seller lists 211,125 km and working AC/engine/gear. Low ask warrants especially careful inspection; ownership and condition unverified.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Ibadan, Oyo · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Automatic, local used, five-seat class. Seller claims sound four-cylinder engine, sharp automatic gear and good tyres; says price is fixed. Inspect AC, documents and underbody because those points were not described.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed
2007 Mitsubishi Outlander, gray ↗₦4,700,000, negotiable
Nigerian-used (local)Within ₦6m

Surulere, Lagos · Automatic (advertised) · Seat count needs confirmation

Automatic, local used. Seller claims first body, untouched engine/gear and cold AC. Seat count unstated; verify.


Observed 19 Sep 2026 · seller claims, availability and condition unconfirmed

Browse more Mitsubishi Outlander listings ↗

Sources & photo credit

Photo: IFCAR / Wikimedia Commons (public domain) · 2007 representative photo ↗

Condition comes first.

Foreign-used is a preference, not proof of condition. Inspect import history, accident repairs and the automatic gearbox just as carefully. Keep Nigerian-used options in play when the condition and records are stronger. Prices are advertised asks, not negotiated values.

Seven seats are not seven seats plus a full boot.

Take your passengers and typical luggage into account. Confirm the actual third row, working seat belts and space left behind it before travelling to see a car.

Representative model photos, not pictures of the advertised vehicles. Some leads are different years within the model family: use each listing’s year, engine and seat details. Listing condition, price and availability must be reconfirmed with the seller.

THE CAR FIELD GUIDE

Buy with your eyes open.

A good car is the one that passes inspection, fits your work and leaves you room to maintain it.

THE PRACTICAL ROUTE

Shortlist. Inspect. Verify.

1. Before travelling

Confirm location, asking price, owner or dealer identity, model year, VIN, automatic gearbox and actual seats. Request a current video showing a cold start, dashboard and interior.

2. Take your own mechanic

Pay an independent mechanic or inspection service you choose. Require a cold start, diagnostic scan, lift inspection and a proper road test with air conditioning running.

3. Before paying

Match the VIN on the car to its documents. Verify ownership and any import/customs records through the relevant official channels. Agree a written receipt and transfer documentation.

Foreign-used or Nigerian-used?

Foreign-used is the preferred search direction here. Treat it as the seller’s description of prior use, not a quality certificate. Verify import records, overseas accident history where available, and the condition of this actual vehicle.

Nigerian-used cars remain in the guide so a well-documented local example is not lost. The purchase ceiling remains ₦6m; higher asks are clearly marked stretch-only and there is no assumption that negotiation will bring them into budget.

In All buying leads, narrow by used type, area and price. Use “Copy questions for seller” to prepare an enquiry; it copies text and does not send anything.

Where to look.

Jiji · widest set of leads in this research

Jiji provides the individual leads in this guide, including one Cars45 seller listing. We also searched alternate channels, but did not obtain an independently verified inventory. Seller badges, “first body” and “nothing to fix” are claims, not inspection results. Meet the car and use your own inspector before paying.

Visit source ↗

Autochek · a second channel to cross-check

Its Nigeria FAQ permits bringing your own mechanic to partner-car inspections. Listed partner cities include Lagos, Abuja and Port Harcourt; confirm stock and inspection arrangements. No matching budget vehicle was independently verified here.

Visit source ↗

Cars45 · inspected listings, still check independently

Cars45 advertises inspected cars and includes Ibadan in its location filters. Request the full report, read the faults and commission your own check. A seller-side report is useful evidence, not a guarantee.

Visit source ↗

Independent inspection services · confirm coverage first

Dreamland advertises mobile pre-purchase inspections in Lagos. Confirm scope, written report, cold/hot road test, lift inspection, price and travel charges before booking. Its service quality was not independently verified. ChekSure also advertises Lagos inspections; its site says Ibadan is not yet covered. A buyer-chosen established local garage may be more practical outside Lagos.

Dreamland inspection information ↗

Official record checks · use several together

FRSC offers plate and proof-of-ownership lookups. Nigeria Customs provides import-duty verification through its official CVMS route. Police e-CMR records ownership and theft reports. Match records to the physical VIN and seller; none of these checks alone proves clean ownership or mechanical condition. Start with official agency links below, not a seller’s screenshot.

FRSC plate verification ↗

Why no Sienna, Montero or cheap “rugged” wildcard?

Sienna-style minivans are excluded to match your preference. Sampled Montero Sport asks exceeded the ceiling, while some budget Pajero ads disclosed a manual conversion or delayed gear shift. A rugged badge cannot compensate for a compromised gearbox, missing paperwork or poor condition.

Market context: Pajero listings ↗

How the expanded search was screened

Original leads remain. New candidates required a working individual ad showing automatic transmission, used type, price and a regional location. We excluded dead pages, explicit repair projects, manual cars, a vehicle needing steering conversion, and possible duplicate ads. Some unresolved seat/location claims remain clearly flagged. No seller was contacted. A lower-priced foreign-used seven-seat Toyota was not verified within ₦6m; foreign-used Honda leads offer more realistic starting points. A five-seat Kia Sportage above budget was not prioritised over the better-matched options.

Browse the underlying marketplace ↗

Start close to home.

Prioritise Ikorodu and the Lagos/Ogun corridor before longer trips. Ask a trusted local mechanic, family or mission network for owner-sale introductions. Travel times vary; reconfirm the exact location and traffic before committing to Ibadan or the far side of Lagos.

Your inspection checklist.

Tick items as you prepare. This checklist resets when you reload the page.

PLAN THE RUNNING COST

What might fuel cost?

This is a scenario, not a pump-price forecast. Replace the example values with your actual price and mileage.

Estimated monthly petrol

Formula: kilometres ÷ km/litre × price per litre. For planning, try 6, 8 and 10 km/litre to see the difference.

Budget beyond the purchase price

The ₦5–6m brief is for the car itself. Separately obtain quotes for inspection, document verification/transfer, insurance, overdue servicing, tyres, battery, brakes and suspension repairs. There is no reliable single repair allowance for a 15–25-year-old car.

Keep a repair reserve and avoid spending the entire available cash on the purchase. A documented timing-belt service can matter more than an attractive respray.

What this guide can tell you.

Research reviewed 19 September 2026. Listings show asking prices and may disappear or change. We have not contacted sellers, inspected vehicles or verified ownership. A marketplace badge is not proof of mechanical condition.

Manufacturer and test figures often describe overseas versions. Confirm the engine, transmission, seat count and VIN of the actual Nigerian vehicle. An SUV is not automatically a serious off-road vehicle, and all-wheel drive does not make floodwater safe.

Research sources

A CAR FOR YOUR NEXT CHAPTER

Room for every journey.

A practical guide to finding a car for the people, places and work that matter.

₦5m target · ₦6m ceilingAutomatic onlyPrefer seven seats

YOUR BUYING BRIEF

Start with the right fit.

People & supplies

Prefer seven seats, with rear seats that fold when carrying supplies. Check the luggage space with every seat occupied.

Made for daily life

Look for sound condition, accessible spare parts and a comfortable automatic for mixed roads around Agbowa.

Visit with a mechanic

Arrange an independent inspection before payment. Confirm the car’s location and condition before travelling.

Additional comparison references

Toyota Highlander

Foreign-used reference: ₦7.45m

Honda Pilot

Foreign-used reference: ₦5.95m–₦7.99m

Hyundai Santa Fe

Foreign-used reference: No suitable foreign-used lead verified in this search

Honda CR-V

Foreign-used reference: ₦5.4m–₦7.45m

Toyota RAV4

Foreign-used reference: ₦7.95m

Mitsubishi Outlander

Foreign-used reference: No suitable foreign-used lead verified in this search